Ramakrishnan takes over as VSSC Director

Three top-level appointments have taken place in the Indian Space Research Organisation for the posts of Director of the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC), Thiruvananthapuram, the Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre (LPSC) and the Satish Dhawan Space Centre (SDSC) at Sriharikota in Andhra Pradesh. Mr S. Ramakrishnan, an accomplished engineer in rocketry and architect of the ISRO’s highly successful Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV), took over as VSSC Director on December 31, 2012 from P.S. Veeraraghavan, who retired that day. Mr. Ramakrishnan was earlier Director, LPSC. Mr M.C. Dathan, a chemical engineer, took over as LPSC Director on New Year’s Day. The LPSC has three facilities at Mahendragiri near Tirunelveli in Tamil Nadu, Valiamala near Thiruvananthapuram and Bangalore. Mr. Dathan was earlier Director, SDSC, Sriharikota. Mr M.Y.S. Prasad, a suave electronics and communication engineer, has become Director of the SDSC, the spaceport from where all ISRO rockets are launched. Earlier, he was its Associate Director.

Source: Hindu

Leave Your Comment

Your email will not be published or shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>