DRDO Chief Satheesh Reddy conferred Missile Systems Award by AIAA

India’s aerospace scientist and Chief of the Defence Research Development Organisation (DRDO), Dr G Satheesh Reddy, has been conferred the Missile Systems Award 2019 by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics. Dr Satheesh is the first Indian to win the award, which recognises his leadership role in the Indian missile programme. AIAA is the world’s largest and reputed aerospace technical society. He will share the prize with Rondell J. Wilson, a former Principal Engineering Fellow of Raytheon Missile Systems. Dr Satheesh Reddy, who is Scientific Adviser to the Defence Minister, is considered the architect of advanced missile technologies and smart guided weapons technologies in India. As Project Director, he led the design and development of the country’s first 1,000 kg class guided bomb which has enhanced precision strike capabilities. Earlier, he was the first scientist from India to receive the Silver Medal from the Royal Aeronautical Society, London. The AIAA said in a press release the award recognises excellence in developing or implementing missile systems technology, including significant technological accomplishments or for inspired leadership of missile systems programmes. Dr Reddy has contributed significantly to the indigenous design, development and deployment of diversified strategic and tactical missile systems, guided weapons, advanced avionics, and navigation technologies. He has played a major role in the development of some key systems, including tactical missile systems such as the quick reaction surface-to-air missile, the portable anti-tank guided missile and the HELINA and NAG anti-tank weapons, the DRDO said.

Source: https://www.thehindubusinessline.com/

Leave Your Comment

Your email will not be published or shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>