National Aero-Olympics concludes

The National Aero-Olympics concluded here with the team from Bhonsala Military School lifting the winner’s trophy and Apeejay School, Jalandhar were declared runners-up. Both are to get free trips to the upcoming Aero India 2013 air show. The three-day event is the first one to have been held here, the aeronautics capital of India. It was hosted by Aeronautical Society of India (AeSI), Bangalore branch and the government’s defence research organisation — Defense Research & Development Organisation (DRDO).  Twenty institutions were short listed for the final competitions based on their project reports on the theme ‘Advancement in Aeroplane Technologies during the last fifty years: 1960-2110’. Each team consisted of four students and a teacher. A jubilant captain of the Bhonsala Military School team was speechless after lifting the trophy which was presented by Dr K Tamilmani Chief Executive of CEMILAC. Eight events like project report, scrap book , collage making, cultural programme, aviation Quiz, GK and current affairs, intelligence quiz and project presentation were conducted. Based on the overall performance a champion team was declared. Dr PS Krishnan, Chairman of AeSI and Director, Aeronautical Development Establishment (ADE) congratulated the winners. Mr DP Sabharwal, event director said he was overwhelmed by the response to the event. As many as 40 teams participated in the entry level this time, but he expects it to double next time. Winners of the individual events were also awarded.  In the caption contest for teachers, Mrs Meera Suresh of Delhi Public School, Bangalore and Mr Thiltham Ravi of Hindu Senior Secondary School, Chennai emerged as first and second prize winners respectively.


Leave Your Comment

Your email will not be published or shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>