Prof. Ved Prakash Sandlas Passed away on July, 06 – 2017. He retired from regular Govt. service in Feb 2005 after working in ISRO (1967-1986) and DRDO (1986-2005) in the areas of Electronics & Communications, Satellite Launch Vehicles and R&D Management. Subsequently (during 2008-13) he functioned as the founder Director General, Amity Institute of Space Science and Technology, and Amity Institute of Aerospace Engineering, Noida.

He was designated Distinguished Scientist and appointed as Chief Controller R & D, DRDO during 1996-2005. As Director, Defence Electronics Applications Laboratory (DEAL), Dehradun (1986-96) he was responsible for the introduction of satellite communication era in the defence services. Earlier, he worked at the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC), Trivandrum and grew up to become Group Director, Electronics (1984-86) and, Mission Director/Project Director SLV-3 (1980-84), and was responsible for the two successful launchings of SLV-3 and Rohini Satellites on May 31, 1981 and April 17, 1983.

He has been awarded DRDO’s ‘Scientist of the Year’ award (1988), FIE Foundation National Award (1998) for Science & Technology, and IIT Kharagpur Distinguished Alumnus Award (2012). He has extensively lectured and published on Project Management, Satellite Launch Vehicle Systems, R&D Management, Electronics, Communication Systems, Amateur Radio, EMI/EMC, Electromagnetic Radiation Hazards, Defence Space Systems and Cyber Security.

Prof. Sandlas is Fellow, Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE), Institution of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers (IETE), Astronautical Society of India, and NGN Forum; Vice President, Amateur Radio Society of India (ARSI) and Radio Amateur Satellite Corporation (AMSAT-India); President, dB Society of USA (India Chapter) and Microwave Applications Society of India (MASI); and Patron, Society of EMC Engineers (India).


Leave Your Comment

Your email will not be published or shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>