4 Defence Scientists Receive DRDO Award

Four defence scientists from the city were among the recipients of DRDO Awards-2013 presented by Prime Minister Mr Narendra Modi in New Delhi. The ‘Performance Excellence Award’ was given to Dr P S Subramanyam, Director, Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA) and Dr K Tamilmani, former Chief Executive, Centre for Military Airworthiness and Certification. The duo and their respective teams were selected for this top award for their contribution in the design, development and certification of the Tejas aircraft. Dr Tamilmani is currently the Director-General (Aero), DRDO. Speaking to Express, Dr Subramanyam said the award is in recognition to the team work of various stake-holders in the Tejas project.  “We are on track towards the first series production Tejas fighter joining the Indian Air Force. This award will definitely inspire the team,” Dr Subramanyam said. The other awardees from the city included, Mr K Ravi Sankar, Scientist ‘F’, Centre for Artificial Intelligence and Robotics, for his contributions in developing security solutions for strategic communication network. Mr S Mohan, Emeritus Professor, Indian Institute of Science, received an award from Mr Modi for his contributions to various DRDO projects. 

Source: http://www.newindianexpress.com/

Narendra Modi At the DRDO awards ceremony

Leave Your Comment

Your email will not be published or shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>